Design process for kids: A cardboard stall project 

Cardboard boxes are abundant in the US, thanks to online shopping. I put the boxes in her playroom just so that she can imagine and play in any way she likes.

Her love for boxes was contagious. So, I started thinking of a design project that we both can do together using boxes.

“Mommy, can I have an ice cream shop?”

“Sure! Let’s look around for ideas, ok?”

I wanted to take this opportunity to introduce the design process to her – a kiddie version, that is. I had to keep reminding myself that we both are equal partners. I had to “relinquish” my role as a mom in this one.

Step 1: Defining the problem/needs

We went around to take photos of street cart and newspaper stand. She loves looking at this snack corner (who doesn’t?) and would sometimes ask to buy. But she knows these are unhealthy food. So she said,”Mommy, why can’t they sell healthy snack? Cut fruits and salads are better, right?”


“What do you think about selling them in your stall?” I asked.

Yes mommy! I like it!” She exclaimed. “Can we also have ice cream and book stall?

And so, we were about to build a 3-in-1 stall.

Step 2: Collect information

Now that we know what we wanted to achieve, we went around taking more photographs. Ice cream ads, magazine stand, market and etc.


Step 3: Ideation 

We looked at the photos and identified things that we like. Then, we did some sketches together. We found a big box and we visualized our ideas together.

Step 4: Develop solution

Liz had a good idea. She asked for a window on each side of the stall so that she can choose to “open or close that particular stall” as she likes.

Step 5: Testing and improve the design 

We played with this for 2 weeks and made some minor changes to the design.


I bought washable tempera paints because I did not want to spend more time cleaning than creating. The colour was not as vibrant as acrylic paint so we had to paint in 2-3 layers.

Mixing colours in egg carton

I love using egg carton as colour palette. (Yes, I dislike washing palette).  It’s great for mixing good amount of paint especially for painting large surface like this. She can also compare her colours and decides how to change it. See our colour mixing lesson here.

Painting her ice cream stall

Time to stock up!

I used black marker to draw the outlines
Ready for sale

Ice cream stall


Step 6: Market research

She set the price list after we visited several markets and ice cream shops to compare prices. This activity was more beneficial than I expected. She learned about money value and questioned why certain products were more costly than the others.

Grocery stall

She had fun collecting nice postcards and put them up for her “magazine stand”.

Magazine stand

Final thoughts: – I was tempted to micromanage, take control and “suggest” better colours. I had to constantly remind myself to focus on the PROCESS than outcome.

– It took us 8 weeks to complete this project. It was long because we wanted to focus on learning and building each other up during the process. There were nights when I was tempted to finish the project by myself. If I did, it would have defeated the purpose.

– Kids have great ideas, only when we choose to think they are great. Our job is to help realising their ideas.

2 comments

Leave a comment